Free Genealogy Stuff Online

Free Genealogy Databases and Records - USA

• Some Free Online Census Records Indexes - USA

• Social Security Death Index available in a free version online

• Ellis Island Online Database search New York ship passenger arrivals 1892-1924

• The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System indexes more than 6 million Civil War soldiers and sailors

• World War II Army Enlistment Records Database (when you get there click on "World War II")

• Some Free Vital Records Databases...
  • Arizona Death Records 1844 to 50 years ago; and Birth Records 1855 to 75 years ago
  • California Death Index, 1940-1997 (FamilySearch)
    • Also See... Online California Vital Records Indexes - Birth, Marriage & Death Records (some free, some fee-based)
  • Illinois Statewide Databases includes: Illinois Marriage Index, 1763-1900, Illinois Death Index Pre-1916 (Ongoing Project), Illinois Death Index, 1916-1950
    • Also See... Online Chicago & Cook County Death Records Indexes, Obituaries & Cemeteries (some free, some fee-based)
  • Indiana State Library Databases includes early Marriage Index (through 1850), Marriage Index, 1958-2018; Indiana World War II Servicemen, and more
  • Minnesota Birth Certificate Index 1900-1934, and Death Certificate Index, 1904-2001
  • Missouri Death Certificate Database, 1910 to 50 years ago
  • New York City Genealogy Databases and Records Search includes births, deaths, marriages and naturalization records; coverage varies by borough
    • Also See... New York City & State Genealogy Resources & Records on the Internet (some free, some fee-based)
  • Ohio Death Certificate Index, 1913-1944
    • Also See... Ohio Death Indexes, Records and Obituaries (some free, some fee-based)
  • Texas Death Records Index, 1903-2000 (FamilySearch)
  • Utah Death Certificate Index 1905-1967
  • Washington State Department of Health: Death Certificates, July 1, 1907-1996 (free) includes digitized images of the death certificates; ongoing project
  • West Virginia Vital Records Search coverage varies by county
  • Wisconsin Birth, Marriage and Death Index - Pre-1907 covers c.1852 to September 30, 1907 (may not be complete, especially for the 1852-1880 period)

Free Genealogy Charts and Forms

• Free Blank Genealogy Charts and Forms from Ancestry.com includes an ancestral chart (or "pedigree chart" - this is a basic family tree chart), family group sheets, census and research forms
• 1950 Census Blank Forms from the National Archives