Using the Freedom of Information Act for Genealogy Records

Genealogy Research Guides Subject Index

Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Cemeteries & Obituaries

Census Records

Free Genealogy Stuff

Historical Newspapers

Military Records

Naturalization Records

Passenger Lists & Records

People & Places

Main Page

Using the Freedom of Information Act to Obtain Genealogy Records (USA)

Some commonly requested records for genealogy purposes using the Federal Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) are Social Security SS-5 forms (the form filled out when applying for a Social Security Card); post-September, 1906 Naturalization Records from the INS (now called the USCIS); and World War Two-Era Alien Registration Records (also from the USCIS). Many federal records are available from the U.S. National Archives (NARA) and some have been put online at NARA, FamilySearch, Ancestry, and other places. There may be fees to order or obtain records from federal agencies or online genealogy companies.

Note that the Freedom of Information Act is a federal act and only applies to federal agencies. It does not apply to local or state governmental agencies. You may find, however, that some local and state governments will have their own similar freedom of information or privacy acts.

Social Security Records

Social Security Death Index (SSDI) Information Information about the SSDI and places to search the SSDI online. Also includes information on Railroad Retirement Board records.
Request for a Deceased Individual's Social Security Record from the Social Security Administration

Naturalization Records

Finding U.S. Naturalization Records - a Genealogy Guide

FBI and CIA Records

Federal Bureau of Investigation - Freedom of Information Act - Privacy Act
F.B.I. Deceased Criminal Identification Files, 1971-1994 (at Ancestry/requires payment) Contains details about deceased individuals extracted from criminal identification files, 1971-1994 (from National Archives Record Group 65, Records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation).
Records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (RG 65) at the National Archives (NARA) information about how to order copies of the records; NARA has mostly retired case files spanning the years 1896-1996.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room
- CREST: the CIA Records Search Tool

World War Two-Era Alien Registration Records

Alien Registration Forms on Microfilm, 1940-1944 from the USCIS
United States Index to Alien Case Files, 1940-2003 at FamilySearch; some files from certain locations are not included
U.S., Index to Alien Case Files, 1944-2003 (at Ancestry/requires payment) indexes A-Files from 1944-2003 for immigrants born before 1909 who were not U.S. citizens; some files from certain locations are not included

For more information about Alien Registration Records and A-Files, see the "World War II-Era Alien Registration Records and A-Files" section at: Online World War II Indexes and Records - USA

Beneficiary Identification Records Locator Subsystem (BIRLS)

For information on the BIRLS database (for ordering copies of VA claim files), see the "Cemeteries and Beneficiaries" section at: Online World War II Indexes and Records - USA

More Information About the Freedom of Information Act

Freedom of Information Act: Frequently Asked Questions from the United States Department of Justice

How To Use The Federal Freedom of Information Act from the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Reclaim the Records

Reclaim the Records is an organization that pursues the release of genealogy-related records from federal agencies and some U.S. states using federal or state freedom of information laws. See their website for information about their projects: Reclaim the Records

Return to the Main Page - Genealogy Research Guides