Historical Newspapers and Indexes On The Internet - USA

Directory of Historical Newspapers on the Internet

General Collections

• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 1789-1949 - from the Library of Congress coverage varies by state and newspaper
  • Chronicling America - New Interface
• Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press includes Mexican and Mexican American publications from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico, mid-1800s-1970s
• Catholic News Archive a collection of digitized Catholic newspapers

Alabama

• Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers
• Birmingham Iron Age, 1874-1901 from the Birmingham Public Library

Alaska

• Alaska Newspapers Index from the Alaska State Library

Arizona

• Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers

California

• California Digital Newspaper Collection includes the Amador Ledger, 1852-1911; Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; Livermore Herald, 1877-1899; Los Angeles Herald, 1873-1921; Sacramento Daily Union, 1851-1899; San Francisco Call, 1890-1913; and many more California newspapers

Colorado

• Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

Florida

• Florida Digital Newspaper Library

Georgia

• Digital Library of Georgia: Historic Newspapers

Hawaii

• Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Star-Bulletin, 1929-1969

Illinois

• Chicago Newspapers
  • Chicago Examiner, 1908-1918 from the Chicago Public Library
  • Chicago Sentinel, 1911-1949 - weekly Jewish publication
  • Dziennik Chicagoski, 15 December 1890 to 30 December 1922 Chicago Polish-language newspaper
  • Dziennik Chicagoski, Dec 15, 1890-1895; 1897-1913; Mar 30, 1914-1942 Chicago Polish-language newspaper
  • Dziennik Zwiazkowy, 1908-1917 Polish-language newspaper from Chicago; also has May-Jun 1925 and Dec 1936
  • Hyde Park Herald Archive, 1882-2008 Hyde Park is a neighborhood on Chicago's South Side, home of the University of Chicago and Barack Obama
  • Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey a collection of translated newspaper articles originally published in ethnic Chicago newspapers from the 1860s to the 1930s
  • For other Chicago genealogy resources, see: Chicago Genealogy Records and Sources on the Internet
• Illinois Newspapers
  • Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections

Indiana

• Hoosier State Chronicles Indiana's Digital Historic Newspaper Program
• Indiana Newspaper Indexes includes...
  • Indianapolis Newspaper Index, 1848-1991 (for the Indianapolis Herald, Indianapolis Journal, Indianapolis News, Indianapolis Sentinel and the Indianapolis Star; coverage varies by newspaper)
  • Logansport Newspaper Index, 1848-1855
  • New Albany Newspaper Index, 1849-1889
  • Vincennes Newspaper Index, 1804-1827
• Indianapolis Recorder, 1899-2005 Indiana-based African-American newspaper; some years missing

Iowa

• Iowa Historical Newspapers: Digitized: A-Z Cities/Counties A list of digitized historical Iowa newspapers by city or county

Kentucky

• Historic Kentucky Newspapers Collection
• Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program from the University of Kentucky Libraries

Louisiana

• Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP) digitized early newspaper issues from various Louisiana Parishes

Maine

• Maine Newspaper Project

Maryland

• Maryland State Archives Online Digitized Newspapers

Massachusetts

• Boston Globe Archives, 3/4/1872-present (requires payment)

Michigan

• Digital Michigan Newspapers Database and Newspaper Portal includes links to free and fee-based online historical Michigan newspapers

Minnesota

• Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
• Winona Newspaper Database includes the Winona Argus and Winona Daily Republican

Missouri

• Missouri Digital Heritage Collections: Newspapers
• Missouri Digital Newspaper Project from the State Historical Society of Missouri
• For more St. Louis newspapers, see the newspapers section at:
  St. Louis, Missouri Genealogy Records and Resources

Montana

• Digitized Montana Newspapers from the Montana Historical Society
• Montana Newspapers from the Montana Historical Society

Nebraska

• Nebraska Newspapers selected Nebraska newspapers before 1923 from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
• Nebraska State Newspaper Extraction Project

New Jersey

• New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers An index of all known digitized (historic) newspapers published in New Jersey
• Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers Collection no index - files are large
• Monmouth County: Red Bank Register Archive, 1878-1991

New Mexico

• New Mexico Historical Newspapers from the University of New Mexico Digital Repository

New York

• New York Times Article Archive Search, 1851-present requires payment
• New York City Record, 1873-1947
  • Information about The City Record and the Digitization Project
• New York State Historic Newspapers has over 6 million newspaper pages
• New York Tribune Index, 1875-1906
• Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online, 1841-1955
• Hudson River Valley Heritage: Historical Newspapers Dutchess, Orange, Rockland and Ulster Counties
• Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages (Fulton History) has over 43 million newspaper pages; includes some newspapers outside of New York

North Carolina

• North Carolina Newspapers from DigitalNC/the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
• The Biblical Recorder Search The Biblical Recorder is the official journal of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention.

Ohio

• Ohio's Digitized Newspapers
• Ohio Jewish Chronicle, 1922-1994 weekly newspaper for the Columbus Jewish community

Oklahoma

• Gateway to Oklahoma History: Searchable Newspapers, 1840s-1920s from the Oklahoma Historical Society

Oregon

• Historic Oregon Newspapers

Pennsylvania

• State Library of Pennsylvania: Digitized Historical Newspapers Collection
• Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
• Philadelphia Press Index, 1898-1912
• Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
• Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection "all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected [Pennsylvania] newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War"

South Carolina

• Historical Newspapers of South Carolina

South Dakota

• Deadwood/Black Hills Newspapers Index, 1877-1900 indexes these Deadwood newspapers: Black Hills Daily Times, Black Hills Champion, and the Black Hills Daily Pioneer

Texas

• Texas Digital Newspaper Program

Utah

• Utah Digital Newspapers

Vermont

• Vermont Digital Newspaper Project

Virginia

• Virginia Chronicle: Historical Archive of Virginia Newspapers
• Fairfax County, Virginia Library Historical Newspaper Index 1785-2000 includes Fairfax, Alexandria, Arlington and other newspapers (coverage varies by newspaper)
• Fredericksburg Research Resources - Includes Some Historical Fredericksburg Newspaper Indexes scroll down to the newspapers section
• Richmond...
  • Richmond Daily Dispatch - Civil War Period, 1860-1865
  • Newspaper Index: Richmond Times Dispatch, Richmond News Leader, 1940s-1985

Washington (State)

• Washington Digital Newspapers

Wisconsin

• Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles c.1860 - c.1940 has 16,000 articles

Wyoming

• Wyoming Digital Newspaper Collection

More Historic Newspapers - Worldwide

• International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) - Newspaper Digitization Projects