Online U.S. Census Records - What Ancestry Has

A Genealogy Research Guide


Genealogy Research Guides Subject Index

Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Cemeteries & Obituaries

Census Records

Free Genealogy Stuff

Historical Newspapers

Military Records

Naturalization Records

Passenger Lists & Records

People & Places

Main Page

U.S. Census Records and Indexes at Ancestry

Ancestry has digitized federal and other census images from the U.S. National Archives microfilm and placed these images online. They have also created indexes for these records. A subscription to Ancestry's U.S. Genealogy Records Collection includes images and indexes for all of the federal census years 1790-1940 (except for 1890, most of which was destroyed). A subscription also includes the 1890 Veteran's census, many American Indian census schedules, 1850 and 1860 slave schedules, and many of the surviving mortality schedules 1850-1880. For subscription information see...

Ancestry's US Census Collection 1790-1940 - Online Images & Indexes

Ancestry's 1880 Census Index is free to search, but viewing the images requires a subscription.

Ancestry has every name indexes for the censuses listed below - all of the items listed here are included in a subscription...
  • 1940 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1930 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1920 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1910 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1900 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1890 U.S. Federal Census (Small Fragment)
  • 1890 Veteran's Schedules (Mostly Union Civil War Veterans or their Widows)
  • 1880 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1870 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1860 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1850 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1840 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1830 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1820 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1810 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1800 U.S. Federal Census
  • 1790 U.S. Federal Census
  • (Note: from 1790-1840 only the heads of household are named in the censuses)
Also includes...
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 (deaths in the year prior to the census being taken)
  • 1860 Slave Schedules of Slave Owners
  • 1850 Slave Schedules of Slave Owners
  • U.S. Indian Census Schedules, 1885-1940
  • 1930 Census of Merchant Seamen
For subscription information see...
Ancestry's US Census Collection 1790-1940 - Online Images & Indexes

Be aware that census records are hand written and can sometimes be difficult to read. Because of this you will sometimes find errors in Ancestry's indexes. However, they also provide some tools for easier searching, such as best matches, soundex capability (surnames that sound alike), and wild card searching.



Return to the Main Page - Genealogy Research Guides

Birth, Marriage & Death Records | Cemeteries & Obituaries | Census Records | Free Stuff | Historical Newspapers
Military Records | Naturalization Records | Passenger Lists & Immigration Records | People & Places